Find the Girl by Helen Phifer (#5 – Morgan Brookes)

Find the Girl (Det. Morgan Brookes #5)


Find the Girl by Helen Phifer

Publishing: January 9, 2022 by Bookouture



Reason(s) I Chose to Read this Book: This is a really good series, with engaging characters.


Previous Book in this Series: #4 – First Girl to Die


Find the Girl by Helen Phifer is the 5th in the Detective Morgan Brookes series.

First, let me thank NetGalley, the publisher Bookouture, and of course the author, for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.


Series Information: (Warning – May contain spoilers from previous books)

Morgan Brookes is living her dream.  She is a Detective Constable for Rydal Falls.  She works under the direction of DS Ben Matthews.  Other members of the team include, DC Amy Smith and DC Des Black.  Their boss is DCI Tom Fell, and their go-to Forensic Pathologist is Declan Donnelly. After losing her mother,  Morgan finally got to know her dad, but Stan is now dead.  Meanwhile, she has learned that her biological father is a rapist and a killer, and has now escaped from prison.


My Synopsis:   (No major reveals, but if concerned, skip to My Opinions)

When Sara Fletcher doesn’t meet her friend for lunch, she is reported missing.  She had been camping at Forest Pines, but hasn’t been seen since her arrival at the site yesterday.

Morgan and Cain discover a large rip in her tent, and fear the worst.  Then they find the skeletal remains of another woman.  Sara is still nowhere to be found.  Retired DCI Brian Walter offers them assistance, as he feels that there may be a serial killer on the loose, someone who has been taking campers from their tents for many years.  Brian calls him The Travelling Man.

Meanwhile, Morgan frets that it may be Gary Marks that is targeting these women, as she thinks she has spotted him in the area, but it isn’t really his MO.  What are the chances there would be two serial killers in the small town of Rydal Falls?


My Opinions:   

Probably the best in the series, but I have honestly enjoyed them all.

Although I am not a romance reader, I am starting to like the relationship between Morgan and Ben, as it has been slow in building, and started as a friendship.  Actually, all the characters are quite well developed, and likable (although Des doesn’t seem to fit).  There seems to be a new Chief Superintendent, but we didn’t even learn Mel’s last name…. Morgan can sometimes be a little impulsive, but her dedication is admirable, and there is quite a bit of ribbing between team members, which makes the dialogue enjoyable.

The plot was really good, and the ending was a surprise, and very well done.  It was a fast and enjoyable read, as the action was non-stop.  Suspense built throughout.

I really have to find time to read the Lucy Harwin series by this author.


Read: January, 2022



Helen PhiferAbout The Author: Helen Phifer is a British Author of crime and horror.  She is best known for writing both the Annie Graham series and Lucy Harwin series.  Helen lives in a small town called Barrow-in-Furness with her husband and five children.  

*** Photo taken from GoodReads

Check her out: 


I have also reviewed this book on GoodReads:


Have you read it?  Do you plan to?  Tell me your thoughts…do you agree or disagree with my assessment?  Either way, I’d love to know.





2 thoughts on “Find the Girl by Helen Phifer (#5 – Morgan Brookes)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s