The Dark Tower by Stephen King (#7 Dark Tower)

The Dark Tower (The Dark Tower #7)

The Dark Tower by Stephen King

Published: 2004

StarStarStarStar

 

The Dark Tower by Stephen King is the 7th and final book in the series of the same name.

Okay, I generally do not write a review with spoilers.  I see no way out of it unless I write “Roland Reaches his Dark Tower”, and that’s all.  I can’t do that, so be forwarned, although I do not tell everything, a lot of information follows:

It has been a long road.  The road gets really bumpy now.  A lot of losses and tears to follow.

This last book starts with Jake and Father Callahan battling the vampires/low men in the Dixie Pig, and Callahan sacrificing himself so that Jake can escape.  Mia has separated herself from Susannah and has given birth to Mordred whose lineage is a little strange.  He eats his mother.  Susannah, Jake and Oy meet in Fedic with Roland and Eddie.  The ka-tet is alive and well. (Losing Callahan and Mia is no big loss, as they were not really part of the ka-tet).  Mordred is following them.

The group travels to Thunderclap and meet Ted Brautigan (from another King book), who is being forced to work as a breaker (to break the remaining beams which holds the Tower up).  The ka-tet loses a member here.

They leap into the future to save the life of Stephen King.  They lose another member here.

They rescue a young man being held prisoner named Patrick Dunville, who will help them on their journey, through pictures.  Susannah asks him to draw a door, and she leaves of her own will (to a rather nice surprise).  So we have lost another one.  Mordred attacks and we lose another.

Roland continues on alone and enters The Dark Tower.

At this point, the author advises readers to consider the book finished in a relatively “happy” ending.  (Personally I’ve now cried so much I don’t think King understands the word “happy”.)   Or you can continue reading……….

I am not going to say I loved the ending. I didn’t hate it either, as the outcome is probably as it should be, but….

Overall, I loved this series, and read it again and again. I find I miss the characters, so as unhappy as I am with the ending, the books are still wonderful, and deserve a second, or third….reading.

Long days and pleasant nights, Sai King

 

Favorite Quotes from The Dark Tower:

“I used to work for this guy before I came here…He used to tell me that ‘never’ is the word God listens for when he needs a laugh.”

“May you find your Tower, Roland, and breach it, and may you climb to the top!”

“The road and the tale have both been long, would you not say so? The trip has been long and the cost has been high… but no great thing was ever attained easily. A long tale, like a tall Tower, must be built a stone at a time.”

 

Re-Read: April 2015
Leave a Reply

