The Giver by Lois Lowry (#1 The Giver)

The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Published: 1993




The Giver by Lois Lowry is the 1st in The Giver Series.

A wonderful novel set in a time where decisions are made for you, and everyone is “the same”.  Since everyone is the same, there is only peace in the community, and a very structured life is lived. People are told how they will live, where they will live, who they will live with, what job they will perform. There are no choices. No emotions.

The world has no “colour” — everything is shades of gray. Residents know no history and have no memories of the past. Only the Giver has access to memories of past events, struggles, wars, seasons, good and bad. One person must be entrusted with the memories, since it is often in memories that the solutions to present problems can be solved. But as the Giver grows older, he must find someone to whom he can pass the memories.

Enter Jonas, the new Receiver, age 12. With the same rare light eyes as the Giver, Jonas discovers a totally different world, both harsh and beautiful.   As he receives the memories of the Giver, he finds his present world lacking. When he asks the Giver what “releasing” is, he is shown the task that his father is about to carry out the next day. Jonas is about to “wake up”. It’s time to change.

A wonderful tale !


Favorite Quotes from The Giver:

“The worst part of holding the memories is not the pain. It’s the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared.”

“Two children—one male, one female—to each family unit. It was written very clearly in the rules.”


Read: December 2015


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s