The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis (#6 Narnia)

The Magician's Nephew (The Chronicles of Narnia, #6)

The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis

Originally Published: 1955




The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis is the 6th in the Narnia Series, and one of the best.

This, if written in chronological order, would be the first in the Narnia series, as this is where we see it’s birth, and Aslan crowns the first King and Queen of Narnia.

In London (in the time of Sherlock Holmes), young Digory and his friend Polly explore the attic area between their row houses, accidentally surprising his uncle while he is dabbling in magic.  He ends up sending them to another world by having them touch yellow magic rings.  They can touch the green rings when they are ready to return.  Despite Polly’s protests, Digory rings a bell in the other world, releasing a witch from her prison, who follows them back to London.  From there on chaos reigns in London.  When they get her back to her own world, accidentally dragging along a few more companions,  more adventures await.

A wonderful tale, and a great introduction to Narnia and and Aslan.  It explains a lot. There are a lot of biblical tie-ins in this one, but it you are not Christian, they can easily be ignored.  This is just a great story.


Favorite Quote from The Magician’s Nephew:

“All get what they want; they do not always like it.”


Read: March 2016





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s