Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King (#1 Bill Hodges)

Mr. Mercedes (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #1)

Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King

Published: 2014



Mr. Mercedes is the 1st in the Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King.

I am a huge King fan. I was a little nervous about this series when I discovered that this was more Mystery than his normal horror genre. However, if you think about it, he has written a number of books that I have never considered horror – Dolores Claiborne, Blaze, etc. After thinking that through, I just relaxed and enjoyed a really good book !!!

It starts with a stolen Mercedes plowing through a crowd of people who had lined up in the wee hours of the morning for a job fair. When all was said and done, eight people died, and fifteen were wounded. The killer escaped.

Months later, Bill Hodges, a retired and depressed policeman is still haunted by the crime, and when he receives a letter from the killer, nothing will stop Bill from looking into this horrific crime.

Along the way, Bill gets assistance from two rather unlikely people, a very neurotic woman, and the kid who mows his lawn.

The story weaves in and out of the crazy life of the killer who can’t wait to do it again.

The characters are wonderful and I love the dynamics between Bill, Holly and Jerome.

Great first book of the series.


Favorite Quotes from Mr. Mercedes:

“Hodges remembers an old saying: even on the darkest day, the sun shines on some dog’s ass.”

“It wasn’t fair, but what is? Life is a crap carnival with shit prizes.”


Read: November 2014

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s