Push by Sapphire

Push

Push by Sapphire

Published: 1997

StarStarStar

 

Push by Sapphire is the story of an illiterate black girl (Precious), who has been raped by her father since a young age, has two children by him, and a mother who also molested her.

Overall, a very sad premise. On the other hand, she meets a teacher who sees Precious as having potential and who encourages her to write. While you would think it would have a feel-good ending…it falls short.

This was a very hard book to read, and I find hard to review.  I’d like to give it 2 stars, but they say if the author can really make you feel something (in this case pain, disgust and sadness that stayed for days), it is a good book.  I’m still not sure how I feel about that comment,  but I definitely felt something.

 

Favorite Quotes from Push:

“How that is so I don’t know. How Mama and Daddy know me sixteen years and hate me, how a stranger meet me and love me.

“I feel like my blood a giant river swell up inside me and I’m drowning. My head all dark inside. Feel like giant river I never cross in front me now. Ms Rain say, You not writing Precious. I say I drownin’ in river. She don’t look me like I’m crazy but say, If you just sit there the river gonna rise up drown you! Writing could be the boat to carry you to the other side.”

 Read: September 2015

 

Leave a Reply

