The Rainbow Comes and Goes by Anderson Cooper

The Rainbow Comes and Goes: A Mother and Son On Life, Love, and Loss

The Rainbow Comes and Goes by Anderson Cooper

Published: 2016

StarStar

 

The Rainbow Comes and Goes: A Mother and Son On Life, Love, and Loss
by Anderson Cooper, Gloria Vanderbilt

First of all, let me state that I read very few biographies (auto or other), and am especially not fond of celebrity tell-alls.

That being said, I love and admire Anderson Cooper, and that is why I read this book. I guess I was under the impression I would hear more about his early life and family. Instead, his Mother went on, and on, and on — about her life, her troubles, her triumphs. She named her lovers, her marriages, her friends. (Definitely not afraid to drop names). She told about the distance between her and her mother, about the custody battle when she was 10, about her marriages, her money problems, her successes, her wants, her needs. She barely mentioned her first two children, but did talk about Carter and Anderson somewhat. However, it was mostly about her. Even when Anderson mentioned something pertinent to his life, she would turn it around to hers.

If this was supposed to be a two way conversation for a mother and son to get to know each other, it failed – on one end anyway.

Now I agree, Gloria Vanderbilt has led an interesting and long life thus far. I, too would have loved to be able to have spent that much time in conversation with my own mother, so I am sure Anderson found this to be a real treasure (especially the beautiful letter at the end). However, as much as he may have enjoyed writing it, I didn’t really enjoy it all.

Read: May 2016
Leave a Reply

