High on Arrival by Mackenzie Phillips

High on Arrival

High on Arrival by Mackenzie Phillips

Published: 2009

StarStarStarStar

 

High on Arrival by Mackenzie Phillips is an autobiography.

Mackenzie is the daughter of John Phillips of the Mamas and the Papas.

First, I read very few autobiographies. But I grew up listening to her fathers band, and watching her in American Grafitti and on TV with Valerie Bertinelli in One Day at a Time. I knew she had a drug problem, and that was sometimes evident on One Day at a Time. I didn’t know much else. Now I wish I didn’t.

This was a very sad story. Between the drugs, and the incest, the horrendous homelife and lack of parenting, it is amazing that Mackenzie Phillips is alive, much less clean. I really hope she stays that way.

I always liked her. Now I realize how brave she is. The courage it took for her to break away from that lifestyle, and to tell her story, the good and the bad, must have been so hard. For one of us, just to kick drugs can be a struggle, but to have your life scrutinized by the public while you try to do so boggles my mind.

Glad I read it.

Favorite Quote from High on Arrival: “You never know what someone is dealing with behind closed doors. You only know what you see or what you think you see.”

Read December 2014

About the Author: Laura Mackenzie Phillips is an American actress and singer best known for her roles in American Graffiti and as rebellious teenager Julie Cooper Horvath on the sitcom One Day at a Time.  

Leave a Reply

